Did Someone Say Paper?

FullSizeRender-13

I love paper. It almost doesn’t matter what kind. My mom has even made up a word for me – she says I am a “paperian.” I have indiscriminately collected writing paper, notebooks and blank journals that I just couldn’t stand to leave behind. But I especially love vintage paper – stamps, receipts, letters, postcards, tickets, maps, sheet music, playbills… It is absolutely fascinating to me. I love the color of old paper and the way the paper feels and the way the ink has faded in places. It ranks right up there with rust in its beauty. But I really love that there is a story behind these items. Each piece makes me wonder about who it belonged to and why it was saved and how it has survived in the world for so long and how far it has traveled to reach me. And when I can actually stand to part with a certain piece of this ephemera, I incorporate it into my art and send it back out into the world so it can continue its wondrous journey…

Leave a Reply

